Drummer Connection
Drummer Connection
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Greetings drummers!  (Read 70049 times)
Hawkeyes83

OfflineOffline

View Profile
« on: January 14, 2009, 12:57:22 PM »

Hi all. 

I'm new to the site and thought I'd introduce myself.  I've been a musician for 21 of my 25 years.  Started off playing classical violin (still do, now I've branched out and jam with it just like all my other instruments).  Taught myself to play guitar and bass at age 12, had to learn piano in school.  I began playing drums about 6 or 7 months ago and am now completely addicted to drumming.  It has changed the way I listen to music altogether. 

I am lucky enough to be storing a friend's kit, so I have something to practice on!  It's a few years old, Mapex V series.  It's not the best in the world, but once I throw some fresh skins on it and figure out a way to repair the crappy tom mount, it'd be a pretty decent kit.  Everything on it is stock (3 or 4 years old, whack!), and as we know, stock skins suck.  The tom mount is not so effective.  The mount on the right just won't hold position.  So, for now, I'm just using the 10" rack tom and the 14" (i think) floor tom.  Since I'm still pretty new to the drums, I like just using the 2 tom setup, since it makes me use my imagination more.

I love almost all styles of music, except pop (or songs written purely for the sake of making money).  I like to jam to the classics like Led Zeppelin and Rush and Marley and the Wailers, the not so classics like Pantera and STP, the weird and funky like Bela Fleck & the Flecktones and DMB, and pretty much everything else in between (Bluegrass, yeah!).  Trying to learn some latin grooves as well, since I live in Miami.

I live in Miami, Florida, any musicians who want to jam, hit me up.

So much love to all you drummers out there!
kyle7863

OfflineOffline

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: January 15, 2009, 06:40:17 PM »

Hey, welcome to the site!